New season and new format. Results of the VTB United League Council

14 June 2022
New season and new format. Results of the VTB United League Council

The United League Council was held in Moscow today. Two teams were accepted as participants of the tournament and announced a few more changes. Here they are:

Samara and MBA are new members of the VTB United League!

Thus, 12 clubs will play in the new season of the VTB League, 10 of which are Russian. The geography has expanded — now fans can also come to Samara for departure.

Avtodor (Saratov), Astana (Nur-Sultan, Kazakhstan), Enisey (Krasnoyarsk), Zenit (Saint Petersburg), Lokomotiv Kuban (Krasnodar), MBA (Moscow), Nizhny Novgorod (Nizhny Novgorod), PARMA-PARIBET (Perm), Samara (Samara), UNICS (Kazan), Tsmoki-Minsk (Minsk, Belarus), CSKA (Moscow).

The 2022/23 regular Season will be held in 2 stages!

The VTB League Council approved the format of the new season. The regular season will be divided into 2 stages. At the first stage, 12 teams will play 2 rounds, after which the teams will be divided into 2 groups – group A (teams ranked 1-6 places) and group B (teams ranked 7-12 places). At the second stage, the teams will play 2 more rounds in their groups.

According to the results of the regular season, which starts in early October, the 8 best teams of the League will be determined. In the 2022/23 championship, the champion will be determined in the playoffs: the quarterfinal series will be held up to 3 wins, the semifinal and final – up to 4 wins.

Legionnaires are now not eight, but six.

Nothing changes in the team’s application for the match — as six foreigners could be declared there, so it is possible. The changes relate to the application for the season, where previously it was possible to declare up to eight foreign players. Now Russian clubs will be able to use only six non-Russians in the season.

Super Cup

Clubs from Turkey and Serbia are invited to the United League Super Cup 2022